Reminiscences of An Amateur Daytrader

10 Year Target
11 min readJun 30, 2020

This blog post was originally published on my blog, but I think it is interesting and wanted to share it on Medium as well.

I have always been fascinated by traders. I have been following Trendtraderen (the trend trader) on Twitter for a while and I really liked his Twitter posts.

Not long ago he did a trending experiment and commented on the experiences. Since he does not have a blog I thought it would be great to have him do a guest post here so you all could read about it.

I find it really interesting to see how an amateur trader acts and thinks. Enjoy.

Business vector created by freepik — www.freepik.com

Guest post from Trendtraderen:

I’ve been trading actively for 4 years now but started to buy some paper-shares 5 years ago. For 18 months now I have been day-trading, and I wanted to publish a 4-week window on my Twitter account, where I published every single trade plus my loss or profits that day.

I even wrote some smaller thoughts about how the day went, my emotions, and why I traded it. I started with 2810,69$. My goal was not to lose money and to sit with a feeling of mastery. Here is how it went:

First Week

As you can see on the picture under, I lost about 25% of my account within 5 tradingdays. Ouch.

--

--

10 Year Target

Investor in my early 30’s determined to generate enough assets in the next 10 years so my ROI matches my expenses. Twitter: @10yeartarget