Having a Hard Time Starting to Write? — Just Start to Write

10 Year Target
2 min readJan 13, 2020
Photo by Art Lasovsky on Unsplash

It’s a new year and for some reason, it always feels like you are starting over. It is a cliché that a new year is a new beginning, but I can really feel it. And not in a good way.

I wouldn’t say that I had a good routine for writing. But at least I was writing. My articles here on Medium were of the occasional kind, but on my blog, I tried to post twice a week. The point is, I wrote.

Now, after a good and long Christmas holiday, it felt like my brain had reset itself.

My first 7 months of blogging had been going well. I wrote 40 blog posts for my blog in addition to a few exclusive Medium posts. But now. It is was so hard to sit down and write.

I didn’t feel like writing. I didn’t feel I could write. That I was empty.

The inspiration was not the problem. Being on vacation didn’t mean I was offline and I had a ton of ideas. My note-taking app is full of topics and I have five Wordpress drafts with titles.

But the minute I sat down in front of a keyboard I just stared at the screen.

Today, however. Today I realized something. I am from the first to realize this and you have probably heard this a thousand times.

--

--

10 Year Target

Investor in my early 30’s determined to generate enough assets in the next 10 years so my ROI matches my expenses. Twitter: @10yeartarget