“I only want to live in peace, plant potatoes and dream”

10 Year Target
3 min readNov 11, 2019

I only want to live in peace, plant potatoes and dream

Moomin

The quote above is from Moomin of the Finish comic Moomin Valley. This is a quote that has resonated with me for a long time. It sounds so relaxing and appealing and can act as a great motivator for becoming financially free.

The Origin of the Quote

The quote is from a comic strip in which the character Sniff is pushing the Moomintroll to do an attempt in becoming rich and famous. Moomin’s response is running away in anger and claiming that he “only wants to live in peace, plant potatoes and dream”.

In the light of the original comic book strip, you could argue that the Moomintroll and I are a little different. Since my blog is describing a journey towards riches. But I would argue differently.

The Moomintroll and I think the same way. But I put down a lot of work, save and invest today, to achieve financial freedom. And once I have achieved financial freedom, then I can live in peace, plant potatoes and dream.

Live In Peace

I recently lived in the capital of Norway, Oslo, but have now moved half an hour outside. Many of my international readers will argue that Oslo is not a big city…

--

--

10 Year Target

Investor in my early 30’s determined to generate enough assets in the next 10 years so my ROI matches my expenses. Twitter: @10yeartarget