6 Steps to Reach Your Targets in Life (+ sharing my own target)

10 Year Target
3 min readFeb 21, 2021

--

In the book Think and Grow Rich, Napoleon Hill writes about the importance of defining goals. By defining, writing down, and envisioning your goals it will become easier to reach them.

** Make sure to follow me on Twitter**

Photo by Mauro paillex

After writing it down you need to convince yourself that you are going to reach the target. You want to create a burning desire that will drive you towards your goal. This will change your way of thinking and influence your actions in a direction towards your goal.

That lesson from Napoleon Hill was my inspiration when I created my internet persona, 10 Year Target, a few years ago. As a financial blogger/microblogger I had a goal of achieving a money target within 10 years. By writing it down and envisioning it, the purpose was to inspire me and make it more achievable.

The practice of defining your goal

  1. Fix in your mind what you want to achieve
  2. Determine what you need to do to achieve your goal
  3. Establish a time for when you want to have achieved your goal
  4. Create a plan for reaching your goal
  5. Write down a clear statement of what you want to achieve when you want to reach your goal, what you want to do to achieve your goal, and describe the plan through which you intend to reach the goal.
  6. Read your statement aloud from time to time— As you read it envision, feel and believe that you already have reached the target

My Goals

The target I created back when I created my 10 Year Target persona, was a really precise target and I truly believe that it helps me when it comes to saving and investing. By having my eyes on the target I know how much I should save every month and how high returns I need to have on average.

Even though Napoleon Hill talks about a money target in his book I believe that practice is something you should apply to other parts of your life as well.

I created a plan for how much money I wanted to achieve and when I wanted to reach the goal. After I have been saving and investing for a while I catch myself dreaming and I’m thinking about what I want to do when I reach my target. Notice that I say when and not if.

Now I wanted to use the method to fix in my mind the target of how I want to live my future life.

My goals are in no way extraordinary or sensational, but I wanted to write them down and I thought I could share them for inspiration.

The goals of my future life

By 2035 my goal is to be able to not have a regular job anymore. My living expenses will be covered by passive income from dividends, financial returns, or other sources. I want to be the master of my own time so that I can incorporate my own routines of exercise, writing, or traveling. I would also like to have written a book, be it short stories, novels, or non-fiction.

I want to achieve this by working hard in the years to come, achieve higher salaries, and invest wisely. My living will be frugal, healthy, and sensible with a focus on my financial goals, my family, and inner peace.

Download my FREE ebook on making goals.

--

--

10 Year Target

Investor in my early 30’s determined to generate enough assets in the next 10 years so my ROI matches my expenses. Twitter: @10yeartarget